Posted in Uncategorized

Inspired and Slightly Overwhelmed #SummerLS

So as I continue in my educational book journey of the summer (currently finishing up Teach Like a Pirate) I am incredibly inspired to change my classroom. I am realizing more and more that the traditionalist approach I have in about 80% of my lessons is just not going to be acceptable to me anymore. The rub is that I am so inspired to tackle the challenges of flipping my direct instruction days, incorporate more problem based learning strategies, utilize standards based grading, and pay more attention to improving my in class lessons that I am afraid that I will bite off more than I can chew. I don’t want to get to September and abandon all of the great techniques and strategies that I am falling in love with this summer. Is there a way to avoid that burn-out? Is it inevitable? I certainly hope not. However, I don’t want to take on so much that I cannot do these strategies justice. Do you have any suggestions?

3 thoughts on “Inspired and Slightly Overwhelmed #SummerLS

  1. I’ve been wanting to read ‘Teach Like a Pirate’. I need to get on that.

    Advice: When I do summer reading, workshops, and seminars- I write in list form all the ideas I really want to do & my reflections. I have a journal (one of those marble composition books) that I keep where I document all my ideas from all my workshops and books instead of it being in files and binders all over my house and classroom. I like thumbing through it, and I’m like “Yeah, I gonna do that!”

    I need all my stuff in one place or I won’t use it.

    1. Yea I am trying to figure out the best format for that “list”. I usually carry a mini clipboard with me at all times with my “to do” list at school. I have a different version in my home. I might use this page to track my ideas since I can quickly use my phone, iPad or computer to do that. My only issue is that when I tried using my phone for my to do list at school I didn’t like having to type out things…I wanted my handwritten list so I could literally cross things out…I guess I have issues.

  2. Start small! You WILL burn out if you try to do it all immediately, so prioritize what needs changing most of all.Take one lesson per unit and revamp it with some of the ideas from TLAP. Maybe you could look at your first unit and change 1-2 assessment pieces to be standards-based, or find problem-based/project-based activity online that meet your curriculum already (there are THOUSANDS of them out there!!) and tweak it to meet your needs.

    Use a supportive colleague(s) to bounce ideas off of…or use Twitter, other teachers are AMAZING resources and a source of encouragement and support when you are feeling a little cooked.

    You are inspired for all the right reasons…your students’ success and engagement! If you keep that as your focus, the rest will fall into place.

    Best of luck, your students are lucky to have you!

Leave a Reply

