Posted in Uncategorized

Building Community: Both In and Out of the Class

After listening to a podcast of Kim Bearden I was amazed at how I’ve taken this sense of community building for granted at my school. Reading Dave Burgess’ book Teach Like a Pirate already brought to my attention the need to really focus on building my classroom community during the first three days. However, I never really thought about the school at large. I just have figured that as a teacher who has been there for over ten years that people should just know me. Also, her quote about “it is hard to fix broken kids with broken adults” really spoke to me. I’m going to make it my mission to learn about as many of the other staff members in my school this year.

Leave a Reply

