Posted in Uncategorized

Day 1 of school, I loved it! #TLAP

After reading Teach Like A Pirate, I wanted to plan out my first three days of school. The more I thought about it, I finally decided to just do the first day like Dave Burgess described in his book. I’m not too proud to admit that I love to beg, borrow and steal EVERYTHING teaching related. Today was in one word, awesome. I’m pretty sure that my students think I’m crazy and it am ok with that. The upside is that EVERY EYE was fixed on me and what I had to say and I don’t think I’ve ever had that experience. My students started to regulate the classroom too whenever meanness would erupt. Also, the larger the class, the better the result. I’ve never known more of my students’ names by the end of the first day, I’ve never known more about my students at the end of the first day. I’m so energized from the experience that I can’t wait for tomorrow. I can’t wait for next week. I want to continue this feeling for a while. I also feel inspired to share it with others but just need to find the right forum. All I can say for now is that I am so happy that I’ve taken my PD into my hands and can’t wait to see where it takes me.

Leave a Reply

