Posted in Math, MTBoS

AUCTION in my math class – AWESOME! Do I hear an opening bid?

Today I ran an “auction” in my class.  Students received a sheet of problems to bid on, $1000 of play money for each group, and an auction paddle.  They were given 10 minutes to strategize and determine which problems they planned to “bid” on.  The group that was able to “win” the most correct answers, wins the game.  If a group purchases an incorrect answer (like #3) not only do they lose the money and not earn a point but they also owe the auctioneer an additional $200.

image1

I was quickly able to see which groups struggled by observing what they bid on.  Also, based on how high the bid was, I could see the confidence of groups when it came to different problems.

I cannot remember who I got the idea from (if it is you, let me know and I will give you proper credit).  I LOVED the activity and am getting excited for the possibility of teaching Math Foundations next year and making it highly game based.

One thought on “AUCTION in my math class – AWESOME! Do I hear an opening bid?

Leave a Reply

