Posted in Education, Math, MTBoS30

Sum Sudoku – One of My Quick and Dirty Ways to Kill Five Minutes #MTBoS30

I don’t know about you but when you believe that an assessment will take a whole period and for some reason it does not it strikes a little panic in my heart.  I mean, if students aren’t engaged bell-to-bell I feel like I’ve not done my job (even if they think that this is an ok thing to happen).  Also, I don’t want students to speed through things so that they can have down time at the end.  To battle this I sometimes use the following game.  You can make them up easily on the fly.  I’ll call it Sum Sudoku.  I’m pretty sure I stole it from somewhere – I wish that I could give credit where it is due.

Here is how it works:

1.)  Start with a 3×3 grid

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 8.39.43 PM.png

2.)  Fill it in with the numbers 1-9 (no repeats, any order)

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 8.41.49 PM.png

3.)  Write the sum of each column, row and the diagonal next to a clear 9×9 grid.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 8.44.40 PM.png

4.)  Fill in a couple of choice numbers

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 8.45.22 PM.png

5.)  Have students figure out where the remaining numbers have to go

I usually take three “winners” and make a new one while students are working on one.

To make this post I created an Excel file to create this particular puzzle.

Do you have strategies to kill five minutes?

 

Leave a Reply

