Posted in Uncategorized

Things I’ve Been “Reading” #Hoopla #MTBoSblogsplosion

I’ve been into “reading” while driving for a while now.  About the same time that I stopped pumping in the car, I wanted to continue to own the 45 minute commute to and from work and decided that recorded books would be a great way to go.  Below is a running list of the titles and my thoughts since the beginning of 2017.

You Can Heal Your Life by Louise Hay

I’ve dabbled in the waters of the self help section on occasion (The Power of Now  by Eckhart Tolle, The Secret by Rhonda Byrne, Good To Great by Jim Collins, How to Make Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie, The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman).  I like the positivity and good feelings I have when I “read” these types of books.  You Can Heal Your Life had that same effect on me.  It really made me evaluate the kinds of self talk and self criticism going on in my head.  I’m amazed at some of the effects from changing my “beliefs” and focusing on positive thoughts instead of negative ones.  Even when I have had negative situations occur, this new mind set has really aided me in getting through the situation without feeling despair.  I have applied the affirmations and they seem very similar to the idea of prayer in my Christian ideology.  I do not necessarily believe all of what was espoused (especially when it came to Hay’s ideas about curing cancer).  However, I fully support the ideas of positive thought patterns and that everyone is doing the best that they can at any given moment.  Although forgiving myself is a challenge, it is necessary.  I actually “read” this book twice in my car so I could absorb everything that Hay had to say.  I highly recommend this book.

You Are A Badass by Jen Sincero

I can’t remember the last time that I laughed out loud while “reading” a book, but I kept doing that during this book.  I love how brutally honest Sincero is and how applicable everything she had to say was.  I ended up making a vision board based on her recommendation.  It is the wallpaper for my computer.  This book helped me think about my students in a different way.  I am convinced that they are all capable – it is my job to help them realize that too.  There is a new vibe in my classroom and I absolutely love it.  This year was the first time that I taught 30-60-90 and 45-45-90 triangles and felt amazing afterwards.  Part of these revelations came from reading this book.  I found that I’ve been so busy blaming students or blaming myself for lack of understanding that I haven’t focused on what students DO understand and that blaming doesn’t need to occur.  I loved this book.  I HIGHLY recommend it.Copy of Inspirational3.jpg

One thought on “Things I’ve Been “Reading” #Hoopla #MTBoSblogsplosion

Leave a Reply

