Posted in Geometry, Math, MTBoS, Uncategorized

Beginning 2017-2018 #blaugust

It is the end of summer.  13 weekdays left of summer (edit: now there are only 8 – eek) – about 2 and a half weeks.  I am determined to remain positive in this time and moving right into the school year.  This summer has been filled with awesome accomplishments:

  • personal records in my squat, bench, and meet total
  • drove all the way to Florida, spent 8 days together, enjoyed Disney, and all the way back home with minimal problems
  • Jacob has been working on his writing skills
  • Jacob can put his head under water
  • redid our master bath about halfway – the rest will come sometime this fall or spring when we have the money 🙂 but I love it already
  • I’ve rejoined the Twitter community and am getting fired up to go back to school!

Goals I have for the last week and a half:

  • take my world powerlifting congress judges’ written test
  • get in this blogging habit again (I did a 30 day challenge before and it was a struggle IN MAY so I can only imagine what it is like in August with school starting BUUUUT I’m not one to back down from a challenge)
  • decide on a teaching initiative for the school year for myself and go full speed ahead (interactive notebooks, flipped classroom, replacing homework completely, or standards based grading).  All are worthy intentions and I need to stop thinking about how great they are and start moving ahead with at least one of them because I am tired of just being in the knowledgeable stage with them and not actually trying them out in my own classroom environment (this year 5 sections of Geometry which I taught for the last two years and now have SMART board lessons for the entire year, 3 regulars and 2 honors, of the 3 regulars 2 are cotaught, low-income school, Chromebook cart in classroom, 16 years of experience on my side)
  • clean my house like it is my JOB (as it is until next week at this time
  • present at the conference on Wednesday

Go #blaugust I got this and I hope you will come along for the ride

Leave a Reply

