Posted in Books, MTBoS, Sunday Funday

My Education Book Recommendations

I’ve really been into “reading” books lately through listening to them through Hoopla or Audible.  I have a 45 minute commute which gives me LOTS of time to listen.  I used to fill that time with NPR but given our current political scene, I just *couldn’t* anymore.  I was looking for a new job last year to shorten the commute but given my new use of the time, I am thankful for the time.  I highly recommend the format for reading books.

Here are my book recommendations.

Teach Like a Pirate by Dave Burgess

This book has had a huge impact on my instruction!  I loved how you can take what you read in the book and apply it in your classroom right away.  There is a THRIVING online community of #TLAP on Twitter that if you haven’t experienced, you should.  I hosted a Twitter Chat for people who JUST read the book.  I was geeked when people just showed up but got STARSTRUCK when the author showed up too.  Since that point, there have been books like Learn Like a Pirate and Lead Like a Pirate and movements like Explore Like a Pirate.  I need to check these out.  I remember reading this book in the summer by the pool and getting excited for the school year – who does that?!#$  I highly recommend this book and this community if you haven’t checked them out yet.

Additionally, a previous post I wrote a couple of years ago, My reading and SummerLS experience thus far, includes a couple of good education reads.  I’m saddened by the fact that I have been researching standards based grading and flipped lessons for several years yet have not found the courage to fully implement either of these strategies in my classroom full time.  I’ve flipped a couple of lessons and have been working on getting others on board to try standards based grading with me in my school (I really don’t want to be the lone wolf with that one), but feel like I have failed myself when it comes to both of those initiatives.

You Are A Badass by Jen Sincero

Not necessarily “education” but definitely had an impact on my teaching, this is one of the books I highly recommend to just about anyone.  Here is the blog post where I discussed this title.  I think as educators we get caught up in looking to administrators for validation of the work we do since students sometimes won’t be completely honest in their assessment of our teaching (for example, you might be challenging your students which is good but they will not realize that it is good until much later in life).  This book helped me look within to find my validation.  It helped me get my swagger back in my classroom after a season in my life where I felt like I was not meant to teach anymore.

 

Leave a Reply

